I’m gettin’ skills

24 Sep

There is always something new to learn.  I really struggle reading and following quilting patterns.  I would love to be able to “wing it” all the time.  Improvisational sewing is very relaxing for me.  Patterns. . .not so much.  I have a BOM in the cupboard that is still unfinished because of the concentration I need to follow the instructions.  It’s going to be fabulous when I finally get it done.

So, anyway, I’m gettin’ skills.  Reading and following patterns.

The Prairie Pioneer Quilters have been challenged this fall to sew an “Underground Railroad” quilt.  We are following Eleanor Burns’ book.  Her instructions are very clear, which I really appreciate.  I decided that I wanted to do one in traditional fabrics and another in not quite so traditional fabrics.  So I’ve chosen deep reds, blues, and greens for the traditional version.

traditional fabrics

Vicki, owner of Nana’s Country Quilt Shop in Grand Island, let me shop at her store.  And by shop I mean destroy.  I pulled so many bolts and had them covering the tables and leaned against the shelves.  And then I bought just enough for the first block.  She’s such a good sport.  But this way I get to go into the shop and select fabrics for each block.  Picking the fabrics is my favorite part.  FUN!

I chose soft yellows, blues, greens for my other quilt.

not so traditional fabrics

aaahhhh. . .little monkey wrench.  It’s so cute!

I’m making the 12″ Blocks but the book also offers 6″ blocks.  They are so adorable.  Tiny monkey wrench. . . ahhh

Sew something you love for someone you love.  Have a great weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

