Job well done

18 Oct

I have a HandiQuilter Avante 18.  I’ve been quilting for a few ladies I know in Grand Island.  When I started I was scared to work on someone else’s quilt top.  But I’ve had the longarm for about a year and I’ve gained confidence.  I like the work I’m doing now.

Kaye's Mystery Quilt

Last year the Prairie Pioneer Quilters were challenged to do a mystery quilt.  We would get a new clue each month and we didn’t know how everything went together until we got the last clue.  My friend Kaye asked me to quilt her mystery quilt.  I really like how it turned out.  The turquoise is vibrant and you can still see the stars pop out.

Mystery Quilts are tricky!  We were given a list of yardages and values but if you don’t know what the final product is how do you choose fabrics.  That’s the challenge.  So I decided to make a baby quilt.  At least I had a theme.  I chose this for my main fabric.  Super Fun!

aaahhh . . .

But if I had used this in the blocks the cute little animals would have been massacred.  Just headless monkey bums all over a baby quilt.  I think not.  Could be traumatic!

So I improvised the back around the animal print.

Back of the Mystery Quilt

And this is the front.  My stars don’t pop as well as Kaye’s but I like it. 

3 Responses to “Job well done”

  1. Vicki October 19, 2011 at 1:41 am #

    Good Job Noelle!!!! I like it

  2. Kaye M. October 19, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    It turned out great, Noelle. I really like it! The quilting does a nice job of complimenting the blocks. Yay! Did you wash out all the marking? I can’t see it in the photos. See you Thurs.pm.

  3. Waggonswest November 9, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    It always amazes me how different the same pattern can look with different fabric choices. I like both of these quilts, but yours is really amazing.

Leave a Reply

